Your never too old to go back to school

The kids aren’t the only ones going back to school in September. I am as well. I am a 40 something student on the last leg of completing my Masters of Business (MBA) degree. Completing a degree, much less an MBA while working full time, commuting, and family life is a huge challenge. Most students who decide to take on an advanced degree are at least ten years younger than I am, as documented by a recent Globe and Mail article about the subject.

The article talks about why older students decide to start considering an MBA in their 40’s. They are typically those who wish to get to the next level in their career. They are also likely to have a family, and large expenses such as a mortgage. I feel like starting a degree later in life took a lot of courage. I’ve always dreamed about having an MBA, not because of the career possibilities, but because it was a goal that I thought I could always complete. Now that I am nearing the finish line, I am glad I am almost done!

To take on an advanced degree at this stage in life, your family and friends must be really supportive of what your trying to do. Say goodbye to your weekends. Same for your evenings. Be prepared to stay up late on most nights, especially when preparing for an exam, or have a paper due. Oh yeah, this is on top of your regular day to day job duties.

Anything worth having in life often takes hours, days, months and years to finally achieve. Don’t let the hard work scare you off. I can picture myself attending the convocation ceremony with my degree in hand, with my family beside me. The degree is as much theirs as it is mine.

Have you been considering going back to school? Do you think you could get family support to help you while you complete?

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/report-on-business/careers/business-education/too-old-to-take-on-an-mba/article9707902/?cmpid=rss1

Leave a Reply

