A moment like this..

a moment like this

It’s Sunday morning, and I have some extra time on my hands. I decided to do what we all do at some point, and log onto YouTube. I remembered an old song in my head called “A moment like this” by Kelly Clarkson and decided to type it into the search bar. As I watched the video, I recalled Kelly’s season on American Idol and her stunning finish to claim the top spot in the competition. Her song, to be honest with you playing it after almost ten years after she won, still inspires me today. Here’s a sampling of her lyrics from her famous song…

A moment like this
Some people wait a lifetime,
For a moment like this
Some people search forever,
For that one special kiss
Oh, I can’t believe it’s happening to me
Some people wait a lifetime,
For a moment like this

The video features her singing in an empty auditorium with clips of her singing on stage on American Idol. I was there watching the show, live at the time she won. I just knew in my mind we have just seen a mega star emerge. Turned out I was right… I’m still a big fan of hers to this day.

Kelly’s moment was winning American Idol. I also have had so many moments like this, so to speak, in my life. Here’s just one of them.  I can remember when my wife and I drove by the Town of Bradford, on our way to the cottage, and decided to pull over. We were planning on getting engaged and we were looking at homes. We approached highway 88, and decided to get off the highway and drive through the town. At one of the corners of the main strip, we found a small, humble home builder and saw the new home models being built. We got very excited about living here, even though we had no idea where Bradford was! We couldn’t contain our excitement. We drove through the town and saw the Canadian flags with the flowers on each light pole. I immediately said to Linda, this town reminds me a lot of Richmond Hill! A week later, without telling either of our parents, we drive back up to town for just the second time and purchased a new home. To be honest, we have never looked back. Ten years on, this is just one moment like this… a moment I will never forget! Linda and I have since started a wonderful life here!

Leave a Reply

