The rest is still unwritten!

Image

I haven’t posted anything here lately because frankly, I am experiencing what I think is really writer’s block. According to Wikipedia, writer’s block is defined as ”a condition, primarily associated with writing as a profession, in which an author loses the ability to produce new work. The condition varies widely in intensity. It can be trivial, a temporary difficulty in dealing with the task at hand.” Is this what I am going though? A temporary writer’s block problem? How do I get out of this rut?

Of course, I decided to look for suggestions on how to overcome my issue. The first thing I did was to research how others have overcome my very same problem. (Google is so wonderful!)

I found out that great writers have overcome what I am experiencing. Famous writer Neil Gaiman, provides this suggestion. “Put it aside for a few days, or longer, do other things, try not to think about it. Then sit down and read it (printouts are best I find, but that’s just me) as if you’ve never seen it before. Start at the beginning. Scribble on the manuscript as you go if you see anything you want to change. And often, when you get to the end you’ll be both enthusiastic about it and know what the next few words are. And you do it all one word at a time.”

One word at a time, Neil Gaiman says. I can do one word at a time. But it hasn’t really resolved my issue. Frustrated with my inability to write, I started listening to Songza on my phone on my way to work one morning. Natasha Bedingfeild’s popular song, “unwritten” was the next song playing. I immediately looked up the song lyrics on my phone as I listened to the song. Here’s an abbreviated version of the lyrics:

“I am unwritten, can’t read my mind, I’m undefined
I’m just beginning, the pen’s in my hand, ending unplanned

Staring at the blank page before you
Open up the dirty window
Let the sun illuminate the words that you could not find
Reaching for something in the distance
So close you can almost taste it
Release your inhibitions
Feel the rain on your skin
No one else can feel it for you
Only you can let it in
No one else, no one else
Can speak the words on your lips
Drench yourself in words unspoken
Live your life with arms wide open
Today is where your book begins
The rest is still unwritten”

Image

Listening to the music and reading the lyrics reversed my writer’s block, enough for me to finally write a meaningful blog post that has some substance. Natasha’s song made me realize how to overcome my writer’s block! Her words “the rest is still unwritten” really made the difference for me. I must write what is what so far remained unwritten. It’s in my hands to continue to tell the town’s story in my words. It’s in my hands to tell the world what our town is all about. It’s up to be to tell the word how I see the town from my very own unique perspective that is cheerful, bright, and provides meaning. I have reestablished my writing of what I like to do as a hobby and am back on my two feet!

What remains for you, as the reader as still “unwritten” about our community?

2 Comments

  1. Carlos that was a grate article you just wrote… I think its a great I would to listen to music to get you in the “mood” to wright again.. I use music for therapy for my self in so many ways:) And i hope you get you Mojo back 🙂 best of luck my friend 🙂

Leave a Reply

